Wordless Wednesday –Not

A limerick is a humorous poem of 5 lines. Lines 1,2 & 5 must have 7-10 syllables and rhyme. Lines 3 & 4 must have 5 -7 syllables and also rhyme.

OK, easy enough, and a great opportunity to play with words and have fun. My first exposure to a limerick was reading some of the works of Ogden Nash. From that point on I was hooked. And I haven’t even been to Nantucket!

So, here are 3 of my offerings. The first 2 are recent and number 3 was published in the summer but I think it fits nicely here as a reprise. Enjoy.

This once was a body I knew,

That could dance away on cue.

But now I just totter,

While passing waste water,

Depends, someone said, are for you.

………………………………………..

I’ve heard of those who run in a circle,

Wringing their hands, awaiting a mir’cle.

Dancing near naked, I’m told,

Is scary, and oh so bold.

While waiting for their turn at ur’nal.

………………………………………………

I am told of a suitcase from Durbin,

That always enjoyed a good bourbon.

When filled to capacity,

It had the audacity,

To be rather mean and disturbin.

Iphone pics, 2016 616

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Dan Drews

At the encouragement of my better half, the blogging thing has taken off. So far it has been a compilation of rants, self exposure, stories, pictures and just plain silliness. after all, I'm 73 and allowed! Always looking forward to the blogs of others, there is so much that needs to be shared, and with that in mind......... Now it is your turn.
This entry was posted in Limericks, Poetry, This'n that, Uncategorized, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wordless Wednesday –Not

  1. Anne J. says:

    Sounds like fun. I’m sure all who read them smiled. I must try them.

    Like

  2. Miriam says:

    Loved your limericks Dan. They put a smile on my face this morning. Fun post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Drews says:

    Thanks Lewis, I hate restrictions; it puts a drain on my on my word pool. Thanks for dropping by.

    Like

  4. Just to say, though, it’s perfect possible for a limerick to have 11 syllables in its longer lines.

    This one appears in lots of books:

    The limerick packs laughs anatomical
    Into space that is quite economical.
    But the good ones I’ve seen
    So seldom are clean
    And the clean ones so seldom are comical

    Like

Please leave your thoughts and suggestions, I'm still a rookie.

