A Post from the Past.

DSC_0855

Browsing through my stats, I noticed that I had published 76 posts in just over 2 years. Not worthy of a medal, but at the same time not too bad for a rookie. It has been fun and a challenge. I thought for this post I would go back to my very first one and reflect on the words and subject chosen.

It was titled New Beginnings, somewhat a heavy start, but yet a very personal one; a bit of a rant/outpouring, a painful bunch of words, I was angry, hurt and confused. But words that seemed necessary at the time. However, it did end on a very positive note, one that is still true to this day.

The words I chose to express my emotions back then are just a snapshot of my state of mind at that moment. I like to think if I were to write on that today it would look quite different. And well it should, or I haven’t learned anything.

To go back and review previous posts is a trip down blogging lane. To see the words chosen and wonder why you wrote them that way may never get answered. It’s done, it’s out there. No regrets. Reflecting back on a number of my blogs, that could be said of many of them.

I suppose as we stumble gracefully into our senior years, we tend to wander back more often to what was. Memories good and bad, and why not. It is time to shift gears. Memories can fill your heart with joy, or your eyes with tears. But that is OK, we are equipped to handle it. I am not in a hurry; I haven’t got all day, I have the rest of my life.

About Dan Drews

At the encouragement of my better half, the blogging thing has taken off. So far it has been a compilation of rants, self exposure, stories, pictures and just plain silliness. after all, I'm 73 and allowed! Always looking forward to the blogs of others, there is so much that needs to be shared, and with that in mind......... Now it is your turn.
This entry was posted in Life, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Post from the Past.

  1. Angie says:

    It always surprises me how much my view of a given situation/person/thing can change in a few short years. Sometimes I reread things and just sit there shaking my head the whole time. Thankfully, that mostly happens in the private, handwritten journal, not the public one!
    Enjoyed reading several of your entries this morning, and if I can figure out how to follow, I’ll be back!

    Like

  2. margaret21 says:

    I agree. I occasionally like to look back over my history as a blogger. I’m glad to have a diary of special moments, and even quite ordinary moments which it’s easy to take for granted. It’s good to be able to remind myself that even when things seem tough, I’m still very lucky. And finally, it’s good to see that slowly if not very surely, I am making some progress in my quest to take photos which have the potential to be something more than snapshots.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Reflecting: Light | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Maggie says:

    Interesting photo of a “post from the past”. Thank you for blogging and the encouragement you have given me to get back in the blogging game, as well as the game of life… I love your last sentence…

    Like

    • Dan Drews says:

      Being able to express oneself in words is essential to our well being and progress. It gives me great joy to see you doing just that. That last sentence….. well, maybe just a tad corny. But sometimes I just can’t resist. Cheers.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It is hard to be in touch with our own feelings these days. It is nice that you found a way to express them.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts and suggestions, I'm still a rookie.

